Caribbean Studies Association, 37th Annual Conference

Call for Papers
Caribbean Studies Association
37th Annual Conference
May 28-June 3, 2012

Le Gosier, Guadeloupe

en français/en español

The Caribbean Studies Association issues a call for papers for its 37th Annual Conference with the theme “Unpacking Caribbean Citizenship: Rights, Participation and Belonging.” We invite scholars, practitioners in the humanities, social sciences, public policy and members of civil society organizations whose works focus on the wider Caribbean and its diasporas to submit abstracts of approximately 250 words or less for research papers and presentations. We also welcome graduate student submissions and multi-lingual panels.

While we expect individual paper submissions, we especially encourage participants to submit proposals for complete panels (four presenters), roundtable discussions that engage with the conference’s timely theme. Unrelated topics will also be considered. More information on the   theme can be found on the CSA website, ( Submissions must be made electronically via the CSA website. Deadline for submissions is December 30, 2011.

With respect to the film/art/performance track: Next year, a very limited number of films that pertain to the conference theme as well as the Francophone Caribbean will be selected for presentation during the conference. This new direction is designed to both streamline and better integrate the film/art/performance track within the conference. Please see the CSA website for submission information. A visual art and performance component will be curated by a committee consisting of members of the Executive Council and CSA members.

CSA is able to offer a limited number of travel grants to assist selected participants. A call for applications for the travel grant will be issued on the CSA website as well as in the CSA fall newsletter scheduled for December.


For information concerning the program only, contact:
Dr. Gina Athena Ulysse, Program Chair,



For information pertaining to registration and membership, please contact:
Mrs. Joy Cooblal, Secretary-Treasurer,


For questions on the travel grants, please contact:
Dr Samuel Furé Davis, Grant Committee Chair,